Decluttering & Reorganizing: Hair

It’s very difficult for me to maintain only one hairstyle, and because of that, I’ve tried nearly all hair lengths and cuttings that came across my own Pinterest boards.

It’s been about two years since I’ve grown my hair out of a pixie, and I’m finally getting into the pixie cut again. It used to be my little comfort, and my obsession of (probably) going against the usual standards of beauty set by the masharakat. Midori expresses this very well in Norwegian Wood, a novel written by Haruki Murakami.

I’m trying Hair Park salon for the first time today. It’s not a fancy, majorly expensive place, but it’s well kept and the staff are very friendly. It’s located somewhere around Matang Jaya, and is on the first floor of a commercial centre block. I’d have to say I love the interior of the place. Warm, well kept, and friendly, especially the boss himself, a blonde-haired, tattooed man.

Processed with VSCO with j2 preset

I didn’t do major changes to my hair, only trimming the grown mess that grew over my undercut. It made me look like an ahjuma, so I wanted to get rid of it. I think it was a little too short this time, but hair will grow. Only weak people fear getting rid of things that will always come back (and hair is one of them)!

I requested for a Wash and Cut with treatment shampoo, so it costs me only MYR38. And to request for a Wash along with a Cut is a rare occassion for me. I’m not the kind of person who would indulge in anything unnecessary, but recent stress and the overwhelming feeling that’s dragging my shoulders down to the ground probably have made that decision for me. And you know what? It feels so fucking good.

What felt so fucking good was that I get to relax for 20 minutes throughout the Wash without worrying about anything. The stiffness of my shoulders went away, and I realized so much that even a simple process like washing my hair can alleviate the stress if done thoroughly and meditatively. These kind of daily self-care activities that I essentially need, I never have spent a lot of time on them because I think, the faster I do so, the less time I waste. And if you have a set of to-do tasks like me, I don’t think you’ll want to waste a lot of time either.

The reason I wrote this post is this: to remind myself to wash my hair and body thoroughly every time I shower, no matter how long it takes. I will try to place mindfulness in every small activities that I do, so that instead of being a chore, it became a meditation instead.

I can’t wait to go back and style my hair for myself, but hello, I think my hair looks more macho now.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Yup. More macho.
Leave a Reply

